Hurray, after a long time of summer sunshine and lounging in the garden, it is raining again which gets me to indoor activity: blogging.

As the digital camera is my baby for so long I was longing for something more manually to do, independent from this 0-1 machine.

After going to the Spring Art Show of Artist’s Network Bedfordshire at the Harpur Suite in Bedford and seeing so much great works, and in particular the Monoprints of Sarah Russell  made me really excited and also jealous. So coming across an advert for a workshop in monoprinting was a lucky moment for me.

On July, 1st I attended a workshop at the Higgins Museum  in Bedford. It was “Monoprinting for Adults” with Caroline Doyle.

Before, I did not check online how this mono-printing works to keep me a surprise for the day.

I never did it before and for me it was a life-changing experience. As usual, I am almost a month late to tell the world, but better late than never.

MP01_IMGP2768

Briefly, You put paint on a plastic sheet (or any other flat hard surface) and then put a sheet of paper on it to print a negative.
Caroline showed us how to draw blindly on the paper, so that the print you get is actually a negative drawing.
Depending on the amount and fluidity of the paint on the print it is possible to cover this sheet again with paper to get a positive print.
So the technique is quite simple but the results were amazing or so methinks.

MP07_IMGP2763

I am not so big in drawing and rarely able to decide on a proper motive, so I preferred to put different shades of paint onto the sheet to print more impressionist and abstract pieces.

MP02_IMGP2770

MP05_IMG_20170701_132543

Once I scratched the paint with stones and sticks, and that was the result:

MP04_IMGP2766

Or added some water to get a blurric effect:

MP06_IMG_20170701_132228

After printing enough from one load of paint, you wash the sheet to start another session.
Doing this, I only washed off some of the paint, got rid of the water with a tissue and then printed the left-over paint to get rather water-colour results like this:

MP09_IMGP2765

Or with even less paint left:

MP08_6_IMGP2769

Or you simply put different colours onto the sheet and draw blindly on the backside of the paper sheet to get a result like this:

MP10_IMG_20170701_132339

All pretty much spontaneous, so all in my taste and mood.

Next, I bought more paint and paper, and yes, I will do it again.

The paint we used was water-based acrylic, but actually all kinds of paint work as long as they are printable.
Of course, it is possible to mask areas with wax or paper shapes.
The thicker the paper used for the print, the wetter the paint can be. So I for myself will use water-colour paper mainly as I liked the aquarellic bit most.

